Uncategorized

New Year, New Opportunities

With 2016 ending, like many others I’ve been reflecting on how the past year went for me. There were many great events including my big brother’s wedding and some set backs like having to seriously restructure and refocus my undergraduate research project. But with 2017 on its way, I’m excited for the new challenges and opportunities it will bring and for how I will be approaching them.

2017 Reading Challenge

I always do the Goodreads year reading challenge. This past year, I reached my goal by reading 33 books. However, this upcoming year is going to be really busy so I’m cutting back to a goal of reading 12 books. I’m challenging myself to have at least 2 of these books be YA books in Spanish so I can continue to enhance my comfort with this language.

Embrace the Hermione Hair

My hair is naturally a frizzy, curly mess that I will spend an hour flat ironing away. Lately, I’ve decided that I want to embrace my natural curl and roll with it so I’m pushing myself to go with the natural look more often.

Develop New Skills

I love to stretch myself and improve. The skills I want to learn and improve are the following: hair braiding, the French language, and mixology. For each skill, I’ve already found a friend whose agreed to help me develop these new skills and I’m super pumped to get started!

Stick to a Schedule

Although this social media and blog world are fairly new to me, I am already starting to fall in love with it. For 2017, my goal is to post 2 YouTube videos on my channel Jen Dafgek a month and post to this blog at least once a week.

What are your resolutions? Make sure to comment and share them and any tips you have for me regarding my goals. Happy New Year and I hope 2017 is your best year yet!!

One thought on “New Year, New Opportunities

Leave a Reply

