School

Finals Study Schedule

Finals are going to be coming up sooner than you know it… *insert groan here* After four years of college finals, I’ve accumulated some tricks for planning and sticking to a study plan in preparation for exams.

studying gif.gif

Write it down

I always either physically write out study schedules in my bullet journal, planner, or I create an excel spread sheet to assign and track hours. I include the day, times, and subjects. I try to assign study times to the morning because I know I work best then. For example, on Tuesdays I don’t have class until 1:00 so I would write 9:00-11:00 immunology, 12:00-1:00 anatomy.

Be realistic

If you know you cannot study for four hours straight, then don’t assign yourself that. It’s just setting you up for failure and that will discourage you from sticking to the rest of the plan. Set realistic goals and if you surpass them, that’s even better!

Alternate Classes

I always study better if I alternate subjects meaning that I work on immunology for two hours, take a break, then study anatomy instead of continuing to overload on immunology. It helps me stay fresh and prevent zoning out.

Be specific

Assign certain classes to your study hours but be even more specific than that – perhaps you write down that you’ll reread chapters 1-3 or will be meeting with a study group to review key concepts from the first month. The more specific your assignments are, the more likely you are to accomplish everything you want.

I hope some of the tips help. Best of luck studying!

Save

Leave a Reply

