Medical Student

Closer Look Day

Well, I can officially announce that I will be attending the Larner College of Medicine at the University of Vermont as a member of the class of 2021 (that’s a mouthful haha)!! To say I am super excited is a drastic understatement. This past weekend, I had the opportunity to attend Closer Look Day up in Burlington which was a great chance for admitted students to see if UVM is the right fit for them.

uvm swag number 2
My new Vermont swag that I purchased

 

The day started with a continental breakfast buffet complete with coffee and bagels (all the necessities). It provided me a chance to meet and mingle with many of my potential classmates which was great. I was nervous I would come off as super young since many people don’t enter medical school right after college or that everyone would think I was too chatty and possibly insane (a definite first impression when it comes to me). However, I clicked with quite a few people and I’m looking forward to getting to know them all better in the fall.

Quite a few professors spoke including the dean detailing specific aspects of UVM’s program, clinical approach, and hospital patient profile. Then the admitted students broke up into smaller groups. I was in a group of about 15 where we got to rotate around the medical school and discuss key aspects of the curriculum that make UVM different with both professors and current students.

dr moo
A row of ‘Dr. Moo’ stress balls we were gifted with

 

The class Professionalism, Communication, & Reflection (PCR) was discussed which meets once a week to discuss important themes in medicine that are not taught in class. Topics include facilitating professionalism and working with patients with special needs. Additionally, we got to explore simulation labs and listen to a dummy’s simulated heart sounds and attend a diversity panel.

For those of you starting the application process, I highly recommend checking out this school’s program to see if it’s as good of a fit for you as it is for me – especially since it is very friendly to out-of-state students (an important aspect to consider).

 

2 thoughts on “Closer Look Day

Leave a Reply

